top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDongeun Choi

Welcome To Dongdaemun!

With over 26 shopping malls and 30,000 shops, Dongdaemun Market (동대문 시장) is one of the largest and most important shopping venues in Korea. Although they are traditionally famous for their night market, this popular shopping district attracts hordes of shoppers and tourists at all times of day. A lot of retailers and shoppers visit Dongdaemun Market for their wide range of products and cheap prices for large quantities. I spent most of my time shopping for jewelry and clothes and found the cutest items for an amazing price. The shop owners offered small gifts or additional items to show their appreciation which I thought was so cute and thoughtful. After about three hours of shopping, I walked over to Gwangjang Traditional Market (광장시장) which is known for their street foods. It’s a popular day-course to shop at Dongdaemun then eat and relax at Gwangjang Traditional Market. I ordered mini kimbap (김밥) which used to be my favorite food in middle school, tteokbokki (떡볶이) and nokdu bindaetteok (녹두 빈대떡). The last stop of the day was Dongdaemun Digital Plaza that hosts big events in Korea such as Seoul Fashion Week and Future Public Diplomacy Conferences. The plaza also served as the Seoul City Tour Bus station. I had a delicious latte inside Dongdaemun’s Digital Plaza’s café to end my day!














18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page