top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDongeun Choi

Weekend Trip to Ulsan!

Updated: Oct 25, 2021


Since 10/2 is Korea’s National Foundation Day a.k.a. a three-day weekend, I decided to visit Ulsan with my mom. It’s always so exciting and fun to plan a spontaneous weekend trip. Here are some highlights of my time in Ulsan.



This is traditional Korean shave ice called, Pat Bingsu (팥빙수). Pat means red bean and Bingsu means shave ice in Korean. The base is made with frozen milk and the toppings are red bean paste, condensed milk, bean powder, mochi and green tea ice cream. Pat Bingsu is definitely one of my favorite Korean desserts and Koreans enjoy eating Pat Bingsu during all four seasons, even winter! Although there are various versions of Pat Bingsu with fruits, chocolate and other flavors, I always go for the original flavor!



Koryo Cheolgang F1963 (고려철강) is a complex area consisting of a huge book store, digital exhibition, park, botanical garden, restaurants and cafes. The book store called Yes 24 buys and sells used books and provide cultural experience activities such as making traditional Korean fans and postcards. They created a space where people can read books as well where I spent about an hour skimming through books. Outside the book store, there was a digital exhibition playing by Hyundai Motors. I was intrigued by their simple but sophisticated display and watched the whole show from the beginning to the end for 20 minutes. I genuinely enjoyed being able to see, visit and experience different activities all at one place, Koryo Cheolgang F1963.



AREA6 is a common workspace created by SamJin food corporation (삼진 어묵) for small businesses and entrepreneurs. With a vision to vitalize the community and design a complex

and built AREA6. There are various types of stores in AREA6 including a hand-crafted wine store, local convenience store, study cafe, coffee shops and art stores. SamJin food corporation is actually one of the most well-known fish cake production companies in Korea and they also have a small fish cake museum within their store. I tried 10 different types of fish cakes and they were all SO SO SO tasty!



Lastly, P. ark is definitely the best café/ bakery that I have ever been to, so I wanted to share what I got from P. ark and their beautiful view. Unlike other cafes or bakeries, P. ark is a whole building with four stories and huge balconies, which invites couples, friends and family to enjoy a small picnic and get-together. P. ark stands for PLATFORM OF ARK FOR CREATORS, so they not only provide products and services from talented baristas and patissiers but also painters and sculptors.













This was not my first time in Ulsan, but I have never been to these places during my previous visits. It was an amazing time, discovering new places and charms in Ulsan.


More pics:















28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page