top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDongeun Choi

Weekend Trip to Mangwon-dong (망원동) & Nakwon Park (낙원공원)

Today, I went to Mangwon-Dong to visit its famous Mangridan-Gil. Mangridan-Gil is known for its unique and boutique cafes and restaurants as well as its traditional market. I have already visited several traditional markets but I never get tired of walking down the market full of delicious food, vibrant atmosphere and regional specialty goods. I also love observing different visitors and store owners interacting with each other and sharing “jung” (정) which is a traditional Korean word/ concept of sincere friendship and hospitality. Usually when you buy something from a store, the owner will offer you additional goods or small gifts to show their appreciation and 정. One of my favorite Korean food is rice cake (떡) so I bought some “injeolmi” (인절미) and “jeolpeon” (절편) with sweet, chewy and savory taste. I passed by a Korean spicy fermented seafood paste (젓갈) store which is a must ingredient for Kimchi, soups, and other side dishes (반찬) in Korea. For lunch, I had tteokbokki (떡볶이), spicy fishcake (매운오뎅), Jalapeno tempura (고추튀김) and this delicious marshmallow ice cream for dessert. My next destination was Nakwon park (낙원공원) to see beautiful reeds and trees changing their colors. The park was crowded by families, friends and couples peacefully walking around and taking pictures. The clear blue sky, gentle breeze and pretty nature made me feel extra lucky to be in Korea in the fall.





















23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page