top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDongeun Choi

The World's Best Public Transportation Systems

Updated: Oct 30, 2021


Korea has one of the best public transportation systems in the world. Unlike other countries, public transportation is a “MUST,” rather than a simple option. In this post, I would like to share 4 types of public transportation that I have experienced so far.


1) First, there are town buses. These buses go into almost every part of the designated area, making it very convenient for nearby residents to get around. The stations are usually 4-5 minutes apart and within walkable distance.


2) Second, I have been on public buses that operate between different cities like Seoul and Gyeonggi-do. The vehicle is bigger and there are more seats than the town buses. There are fewer and further-apart stations for these buses but they are crucial for commuting workers and students who live and work in different cities. Public buses also contribute to reducing overcrowding in one city and expanding people’s radius of life. I remember going on bus 1650 with my sister every weekend to visit my grandparents in Anyang, Gyeonggi-do from Songpa, Seoul.


3) Third is subways, which is the most commonly and frequently used in Korea. Korean subways have 10 lines that reach almost every city of Korea. The lines are usually based on big universities and main cities. During mornings and evenings, the subways overflow with people going to and coming back from work, school and home, which is why subways are also referred to as hell-way during these times. The seats are almost always full and the subway fills up quickly with people standing and getting packed. I have been on the subway to visit my school, Ewha Woman’s University and luckily, my route took me over the ground with a beautiful Han-river view. I think I will plan a day of going to random stations in Korea to explore new places and take advantage of this convenient system.


4) Lastly, I have used the SRT for my trip to Ulsan a few weeks ago. Originally, the Korean government-operated Korea Train Express (KTX) but now there is Super Rapid Train (SRT) by a private company. With cars, it takes about 4-5 hours to get to Busan from Seoul but with KTX or SRT, it only takes 2 hours to arrive in Busan. It feels similar to travelling via an airplane but SRT and KTX also allow you to enjoy views of various cities along the way outside the windows.


Rental bikes and taxis are on my next transportation list to try. I am thankful for the various transportation systems in Korea that make it easier for me to explore, experience and enjoy Korea!


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page